Press "Enter" to skip to content

Ballot Paper: Higgins 1990

This is an example of a ballot paper from the 1990 federal election.

The ballot paper is from the Victorian electorate of Higgins. A safe Liberal seat, Higgins had been represented by Roger Shipton since 1975. Earlier it was held by two Liberals who became prime minister: Harold Holt (1949-67) and John Gorton (1968-75).

Costello won the election with 56.3% of the primary vote and 61.8% of the two-party-preferred vote.

Costello went on to hold the seat in 1993, 1996, 1998, 2001, 2004 and 2007. He served as Treasurer in the Howard government (1996-2007) and retired in 2009.

The image shown is scanned from the original ballot paper, which I still have. A PDF version is also shown.


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024