Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bill Shorten’s ALP Shadow Ministry – Full List

The Leader of the Opposition, Bill Shorten, has announced the shadow ministry, following the ALP’s defeat in the 2013 federal election.

The reshuffle is extensive by comparison with the former Rudd and Gillard ministries and appears to reflect Shorten’s desire for a team he described as “energetic and diverse”. At a press conference today, Shorten said the executive demonstrated “generational change” with more members from “gen-X”.


  • Listen to Shorten and Plibersek (29m)

Shorten has put together a new economic team, retaining former Treasurer Chris Bowen as Shadow Treasurer, with Tony Burke as Shadow Finance Minister and Andrew Leigh as Shadow Assistant Treasurer. The Senate leader, Penny Wong, takes on Trade and Investment.

Deputy Leader Tanya Plibersek takes on Foreign Affairs, whilst Kate Ellis is promoted to Education and Catherine King to Health.

Richard Marles assumes responsibility for Immigration and Border Protection. Jason Clare becomes Shadow Minister for Communications, whilst the former minister, Senator Stephen Conroy, moves to Defence. Michelle Rowland becomes Clare’s Assistant.

Shadow Cabinet

  1. Bill Shorten
    Leader of the Opposition
  2. Tanya Plibersek
    Deputy Leader of the Opposition
    Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Development
  3. Senator Penny Wong
    Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
    Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment
  4. Senator Stephen Conroy
    Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
    Shadow Minister for Defence
  5. Anthony Albanese
    Shadow Minister for Infrastructure and Transport
    Shadow Minister for Tourism
  6. Chris Bowen
    Shadow Treasurer
  7. Tony Burke
    Shadow Minister for Finance
    Manager of Opposition Business (House)
  8. Mark Butler
    Shadow Minister for Environment, Climate Change and Water
  9. Senator Kim Carr
    Shadow Minister for Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Industry
    Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Science
  10. Jason Clare
    Shadow Minister for Communications
  11. Mark Dreyfus
    Shadow Attorney-General
    Shadow Minister for the Arts
    Deputy Manager of Opposition Business (House)
  12. Kate Ellis
    Shadow Minister for Education
    Shadow Minister for Early Childhood
  13. Joel Fitzgibbon
    Shadow Minister for Agriculture
  14. Gary Gray
    Shadow Minister for Resources
    Shadow Minister for Northern Australia
    Shadow Special Minister of State
  15. Catherine King
    Shadow Minister for Health
  16. Jenny Macklin
    Shadow Minister for Families and Payments
    Shadow Minister for Disability Reform
  17. Richard Marles
    Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection
  18. Shayne Neumann
    Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs
    Shadow Minister for Ageing
  19. Brendan O’Connor
    Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations

Shadow Outer Ministry

  1. Bernie Ripoll
    Shadow Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation
    Shadow Minister for Sport
    Shadow Minister Assisting the Leader for Small Business
  2. Senator Claire Moore
    Shadow Minister for Women
    Shadow Minister for Carers
    Shadow Minister for Communities
    Manager of Opposition Business (Senate)
  3. Senator Don Farrell
    Shadow Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC
    Shadow Minister for Veterans’ Affairs
  4. David Feeney
    Shadow Minister for Justice
    Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence
  5. Julie Collins
    Shadow Minister for Regional Development and Local Government
    Shadow Minister for Employment Services
  6. Dr. Andrew Leigh
    Shadow Minister for Competition
    Shadow Assistant Treasurer
  7. Sharon Bird
    Shadow Minister for Vocational Education
  8. Michelle Rowland
    Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multiculturalism
    Shadow Assistant Minister for Communications
  9. Melissa Parke
    Shadow Assistant Minister for Health
  10. Senator Jan McLucas
    Shadow Minister for Mental Health
    Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness
  11. Senator Doug Cameron
    Shadow Minister for Human Services

Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries

  1. Julie Owens
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Small Business
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Education
  2. Senator Jacinta Collins
    Shadow Cabinet Secretary
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
  3. Michael Danby
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Arts
  4. Dr. Jim Chalmers
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Leader of the Opposition
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Trade and Investment
  5. Senator Matt Thistlethwaite
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Foreign Affairs
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration
  6. Gai Brodtmann
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Defence
  7. Stephen Jones
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Regional Development and Infrastructure
  8. Warren Snowdon
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for External Territories
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Northern Australia
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Indigenous Affairs
  9. Ed Husic
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Treasurer
  10. Senator Louise Pratt
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for the Environment, Climate Change and Water
  11. Tony Zappia
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Manufacturing
  12. Senator Lisa Singh
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary to the Shadow Attorney-General
  13. Amanda Rishworth
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Health
  14. Senator Carol Brown
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Families and Payments
  15. Senator Helen Polley
    Shadow Parliamentary Secretary for Aged Care

The list below shows all Shadow Ministers and Shadow Parliamentary Secretaries grouped with their appropriate Shadow Cabinet Ministers:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2023