Press "Enter" to skip to content

Northern Territory Senate Results Finalised: One Each To ALP and CLP

The Senate result in the Northern Territory has been announced by the Australian Electoral Commission.

As is always the case, the ALP has won one of the two available seats and the Country Liberals (CLP) the other. Under proportional representation, the NT and the ACT always produces a 1-all result.

The ALP received 37.44% of the primary vote, more than a full quota. Its new senator will be an indigenous woman, Malarndirri McCarthy. She replaces Nova Peris, who served just one term.

The CLP received 36.42% of the primary vote, a quota in its own right, re-electing Nigel Scullion to a sixth term. He was first elected in 2001. Scullion sits with The Nationals in Canberra and is their leader in the Senate. He is also Minister for Indigenous Affairs in the Turnbull government.

The AEC’s preference distribution document is shown at the end of this page.

The Tasmanian Senate result is expected later this week, with other States due to be declared next week.

Senate Count – Latest Update

This table shows only those States and Territories where Senate results have been declared. The first two rows show the ALP and Coalition totals. The table will be updated as results become available.

Senate Results – 2016 Federal Election

Media release from the Australian Electoral Commission.

Northern Territory Senators have been decided

The Australian Electoral Commission (AEC) has announced that the count for the election of two Senators for the Northern Territory was completed today.

The successful candidates for the two Senate vacancies for the Northern Territory are (in order of their election):

  • McCarthy, Malarndirri – Australian Labor Party (Northern Territory) Branch
  • Scullion, Nigel – Country Liberals (NT)

The Australian Electoral Officer for the Northern Territory Mr Mick Sherry said the distribution of preferences was conducted today to elect the two Northern Territory Senators.

“As with all aspects of the count, the automated distribution of preferences undertaken today was open to scrutineers appointed by the candidates,” Mr Sherry said.

All 2016 federal election results are available in the AEC’s tally room at

Declaration of the Poll

Mr Sherry said that the formal Declaration of the Poll for the 2016 election of Senators for the Northern Territory will take place at 11am on Tuesday, 26 July and will be held at the AEC office on level 7 of the TCG Centre, 80 Mitchell Street, Darwin.

All candidates and the media are invited to attend. RSVPs are not required.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024