Press "Enter" to skip to content

Greens Leadership Team Re-Elected Unopposed

The Australian Greens have re-elected their leadership team, following the federal election.

Di NataleAt a partyroom meeting today, all positions were spilled and then filled without contest.

Senator Richard Di Natale remains leader, with two co-deputy leaders, Senator Larissa Waters and Senator Scott Ludlam.

Senator Rachel Siewert remains as Whip, whilst the party’s sole lower house MP, Adam Bandt, continues as Party Room Chair.

The Greens partyroom has 10 members, comprising 9 senators and Bandt.

One previous senator, Robert Simms, failed to be returned in South Australia at the July 2 election.

Media release from the Australian Greens.

Australian Greens reaffirm leadership team

All Australian Greens parliamentary leadership positions were today spilled and reaffirmed, following routine procedures after an election.

Senator Richard Di Natale continues as Leader of the Australian Greens. Senators Larissa Waters Scott Ludlam continue as the Australian Greens Co-Deputy Leaders. Senator Rachel Siewert remains the party’s Whip and Adam Bandt MP has taken on the role of Party Room Chair. All positions were uncontested and supported by Party Room consensus.

“I’m proud to be leading this incredibly passionate, hardworking and principled team into another term of Parliament,” Senator Di Natale said.

“I congratulate Scott, Larissa and Rachel on their re-election, and welcome Adam Bandt to the role of Party Room Chair.

“Now more than ever parliament needs a strong voice for action on climate change, more decency towards people seeking asylum, tacking inequality and strengthening our democracy. The Australian Greens will continue to take on vested interests and stand up for what matters.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024