Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

State Elections

This page contains links to pages on Australian State and Territory elections.

New South Wales

  • 2011 New South Wales – The ALP is demolished after 16 years in office.
  • 2003 New South Wales – Bob Carr’s third and final victory for the ALP. The government won 55 seats in the 93-seat lower house.
  • 1988 New South Wales – The Wran-Unsworth era comes to an and Nick Greiner leads the coalition into government.


  • 2014 Victoria – Labor returns to office under Daniel Andrews, after only one term in opposition.
  • 2010 Victoria – Ted Baillieu narrowly wins office for the Liberal-Nationals coalition.
  • 2006 Victoria – Steve Bracks won the second-biggest victory in Victorian history.
  • 2002 Victoria – Labor Premier Steve Bracks secured the biggest victory in Victorian history.
  • 1999 Victoria – the election that unexpectedly saw the defeat of the coalition government led by Jeff Kennett.
  • 1996 Victoria – the election that saw Jeff Kennett and the Liberal-National coalition returned for a second term with an overwhelming majority.


  • 2006 Queensland – Peter Beattie wins a fourth term for the ALP.
  • 2004 Queensland – Peter Beattie wins a third term for the ALP.
  • 2001 Queensland – the election that delivered a landslide victory to the ALP and Premier Peter Beattie. The Labor government won 66 of the 89 seats in the Legislative Assembly.
  • 1998 Queensland – the election that delivered minority government to Peter Beattie and the ALP.

Western Australia

South Australia

  • 2014 South Australia – Jay Weatherill forms a minority government and takes the ALP to a surprise fourth term.


  • 2014 Tasmania – Will Hodgman takes the Liberals back into office for the first time in 16 years.
  • 2002 Tasmania – Jim Bacon takes the ALP to a landslide re-election to a second term.
  • 1998 Tasmania – the election that returned the ALP to government in the Apple Isle for the first time since 1992.
  • 1989 Tasmania – Michael Field forms a coalition government with the Greens, defeating the Liberals.

Australian Capital Territory

  • 2008 A.C.T. – Jon Stanhope’s Labor government loses its majority and is forced into coalition with the Greens.

Northern Territory

  • 2016 N.T. – The ALP returns to government under Michael Gunner, all but wiping out the Country Liberals.
  • 2012 N.T. – Denis Burke takes the CLP back into government after 11 years in opposition, defeating ALP Chief Minister Paul Henderson.
  • 2001 N.T. – Clare Martin takes the ALP into government for the first time
Print Friendly, PDF & Email