Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

2013 Primary Vote Winners, Preference Vote Losers

There were 15 seats in the 2013 federal election where the primary vote leaders were defeated after the full distribution of preferences.

In 12 seats, all held by the ALP, the coalition candidate led on primary votes but the seat was won by the ALP after preferences. In 3 seats, coalition leads were overtaken by independent or third-party candidates.

The 15 seats were concentrated in Victoria (7), Queensland (5) and New South Wales (3).

Overall, 53 (35.3%) of the 150 House of Representatives electorates were decided on primary votes, whilst 97 (64.7%) required preference distribution to obtain a winner.

It is worth noting that 82 of the 97 electorates were won after preferences by the candidates who led the primary vote count. Even with preferences, a primary vote lead is difficult to overcome. [Read more…]

Wayne Swan (ALP-Lilley) – Maiden Speech 1993

Wayne Swan was elected as the ALP member for Lilley at the 1993 federal election.

Swan was defeated in 1996 but regained the seat in 1998.

This is his 1993 maiden speech.

  • Listen to Swan’s speech (21m)
  • Watch Swan (21m)

Hansard transcript of Maiden Speech by Wayne Swan, ALP member for Lilley.

Wayne SwanMr SWAN (6.03 p.m.) — Mr Deputy Speaker, my most important task today is to thank the people of Lilley for their support and trust. My commitment to them is to work hard, to listen to their views and to strongly represent their interests in this place. I offer you, Mr Deputy Speaker, my congratulations on the attainment of your office. I also congratulate the honourable member for Dickson (Mr Lavarch), and the honourable member for Rankin (Mr Beddall) on their places in the Ministry. [Read more…]