AEC Delays ACT Redistribution But Capital May Get Extra Seat

The Australian Electoral Commission has delayed a scheduled redistribution of electoral boundaries in the Australian Capital Territory but the nation’s capital may get an extra seat in time for the next election.

Redistributions must take place every seven years in each state and territory. They also occur when enrolments in more than one-third of all divisions, or one seat in the territories, deviate from the average by more than 10%. Redistributions also occur when the number of representatives to which a state or territory is entitled changes due to population increase or decline.

The last redistribution in the ACT took place in 2004. The AEC has deferred the next redistribution until the end of 2014 when the next determination of membership entitlement is due. It is expected that the determination will increase the ACT’s representation from two to three seats. [Read more…]

2004 Seat And Notional Seat Status: AEC

This is the Australian Electoral Commission’s complete list of the status of seats in the House of Representatives.

The booklet uses election results from 2001 to determine the status of seats in New South Wales, Western Australia, Tasmania, Australian Capital Territory and Northern Territory.

Because of redistributions, a notional status is provided for seats in Victoria, Queensland and South Australia. [Read more…]