Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

The Second Whitlam Ministry – December 19, 1972

Gough Whitlam became Prime Minister on December 5, 1972, following the ALP’s election victory on December 2.

Whitlam and his deputy, Lance Barnard, governed as a duumvirate until December 19, 1972. By this time, the election results were finalised and the ALP Caucus had met, in accordance with party rules, to elect the ministry.

The second Whitlam ministry of 27 men was sworn into office on December 19, 1972.

The Second Whitlam Ministry


The Second Whitlam Ministry
(all ministers belonged to Cabinet)
No. Ministry Name
Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs The Hon. Edward Gough Whitlam, QC
Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Defence, Minister for the Navy, Minister for the Army, Minister for Air and Minister for Supply The Hon. Lance Herbert Barnard MP
Minister for Overseas Trade and Minister for Secondary Industry The Hon. James Ford Cairns MP
Minister for Social Security The Hon. William George Hayden MP
Treasurer The Hon. Frank Crean MP
Attorney-General, Minister for Customs and Excise and Leader of the Government in the Senate Senator the Hon. Lionel Keith Murphy, QC
Special Minister of State, Vice-President of the Executive Council, Minister assisting the Prime Minister and Minister assisting the Minister for Foreign Affairs Senator the Hon. Donald Robert Willesee
Minister for the Media Senator the Hon. Douglas McClelland
Minister for Northern Development The Hon. Rex Alan Patterson MP
Minister for Repatriation and Minister assisting the Minister for Defence Senator the Hon. Reginald Bishop
Minister for Services and Property and Leader of the House The Hon. Frederick Michael Daly MP
Minister for Labour The Hon. Clyde Robert Cameron MP
Minister for Urban and Regional Development The Hon. Thomas Uren MP
Minister for Transport and Minister for Civil Aviation The Hon. Charles Keith Jones MP
Minister for Education The Hon. Kim Edward Beazley MP
Minister for Tourism and Recreation and Minister assisting the Treasurer The Hon. Francis Eugene Stewart MP
Minister for Works Senator the Hon. James Luke Cavanagh
Minister for Primary Industry Senator the Hon. Kenneth Shaw Wreidt
Minister for Aboriginal Affairs The Hon. Gordon Munro Bryant ED MP
Minister for Minerals and Energy The Hon. Reginald Francis Xavier Connor MP
Minister for Immigration The Hon. Albert Jaime Grassby MP
Minister for Housing The Hon. Lelie Royston Johnson MP
Minister for the Capital Territory and Minister for the Northern Territory The Hon. Keppel Earl Enderby MP
Postmaster-General The Hon. Lionel Frost Bowen MP
Minister for Health The Hon. Douglas Nixon Everingham MP
Minister for the Environment and Conservation The Hon. Moses Henry Cass MP
Minister for Science and Minister for External Territories The Hon. William Lawrence Morrison MP
Print Friendly, PDF & Email