Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rupert “Dick” Hamer Announces His Resignation As Victorian Premier

Rupert “Dick” Hamer became Premier of Victoria on August 23, 1972, succeeding the long-serving Sir Henry Bolte.

He served as Premier for nearly nine years, winning elections in 1973, 1976 and 1979.

Hamer’s retirement came amidst political upheaval in the Liberal Party, but he maintained that he intended to retire in August 1981 anyway.

Hamer was replaced by Lindsay Thompson, who went on to lose the 1982 election to John Cain and the ALP, the first Labor government in Victoria for 27 years.

  • Listen to Hamer’s resignation statement (4m)
  • Watch Hamer’s resignation statement (4m)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024