Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Celebrating The Hawke And Cain Labor Governments

The Victorian ALP held a function in April 1983 to celebrate the advent of federal and state Labor governments.

The Cain Labor government was elected on April 3, 1982. It was the first Labor government in Victoria since 1955 and had just celebrated its first anniversary.

The Hawke government was elected on March 5, 1983. It was the first federal Labor government since the dismissal of the Whitlam government on November 11, 1975.

For the first time since 1947, there was a Labor government in Canberra and a Labor government in Victoria.

To celebrate the occasion, and in recognition of Bob Hawke’s status as a Victorian member of Parliament, the ALP held a Gala Dinner Dance at the St. Kilda Town Hall on April 29, 1983.

The menu card for the occasion is shown below.

The autographs shown are:

  1. David Gray – MLA for Syndal
  2. Cyril Kennedy – MLC for Waverley Province
  3. not clear
  4. Ian Cathie – MLA for Carrum and Minister for Housing and Economic Development
  5. Bob Hogg – Senior Adviser to Prime Minister Hawke
  6. Bob Hawke – MHR for Wills, Prime Minister
  7. Clyde Holding – MHR for Melbourne Ports, Minister for Aboriginal Affairs
  8. Jane Hill – MLA for Frankston
  9. John Cain – MLA for Bundoora, Premier
  10. Nancye Cain – wife of John Cain




Print Friendly, PDF & Email