Press "Enter" to skip to content

Hawke Labor Government Wins Third Term

The Hawke Labor government was re-elected to a third term at the Federal Election on July 11, 1987.

The government increased its majority with a net gain of 4 seats. It lost one seat each in New South Wales and Victoria. It picked up one seat each in Tasmania and the Northern Territory, and four seats in Queensland.

The ALP’s success in Queensland justified Hawke’s decision to call an early election to capitalise on the “Joh for PM” campaign by the Queensland Premier, Sir Joh Bjelke-Petersen.

This is how the ABC TV news in Melbourne reported on the election outcome:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024