Press "Enter" to skip to content

Queensland 1998 State Election Results

The Queensland state election was held on June 13, 1998.

At the previous election in 1995, Wayne Goss’s Labor government was re-elected to a third term with a one-seat majority. In February 1996, a by-election was held in the electorate of Mundingburra, as a result of a decision of the Court of Disputed Returns. The Liberal Party won the seat and Rob Borbidge became leader of a National-Liberal coalition government with the support of the independent member for Gladstone, Liz Cunningham.

The 1998 election saw the defeat of the Borbidge government and the narrow election of a Labor government led by Peter Beattie.

The election was the high point for the new Pauline Hanson’s One Nation party. It won 22.67% of the primary vote and 11 seats. One Nation won six seats from the ALP and five from the Nationals. The Nationals lost another seat to an independent.

However, the ALP won six seats from the Liberal Party in Brisbane. Voter reaction to the Liberal decision to preference One Nation was seen as the reason for the Liberal losses.

Peter Beattie was able to form a minority government with the support of an independent, Peter Wellington. Following a by-election a few months later, caused by the resignation of the One Nation member for Mulgrave, the ALP had a one-seat majority.

1998 Queensland State Election – Primary Votes
Party Abbr Formal Votes Percentage
A.L.P ALP 751,794 38.87%
Pauline Hanson’s One Nation ONP 438,580 22.67%
Liberal Party LIB 311,247 16.09%
Queensland Nationals NPA 293,357 15.17%
The Greens GRN 45,663 2.36%
The Democrats DEM 31,118 1.61%
Australia First (Qld) AFP 9,568 0.49%
ARP ARP 7,653 0.40%
C.D.P (Qld.) CDP 2,098 0.11%
Shooters Party TSP 1,051 0.05%
AWP AWP 299 0.02%
Other Candidates 41,942 2.17%


1998 Queensland State Election
Total Formal Votes 1,934,370
Total Informal Votes 28,416
Percentage Informal 1.45%
Total Votes Counted 1,962,786
Percentage of Total Electors 92.76%
Total Electors Enrolled 2,115,977


Queensland Parliament
(Note: The Queensland Legislative Council was abolished in 1922)
Party Legislative Assembly
1995 Election
Legislative Assembly
1998 Election
One Nation
ALP Government, sworn in 26 June 1998
Premier: Peter Beattie

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024