Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Independent Members – House – 1998

The 1998 Federal Election resulted in just one independent member being returned to the House of Representatives.

The election was held on October 3, 1998.

Independent Members of the House of Representatives 1998
1 member
Name Division, State First
Andren, Peter James Calare, NSW 1996

Note: Peter Andren was the only independent member elected in 1998.

He was subsequently joined by Andrew Theophanous (Calwell, Vic) who resigned from the ALP on April 18, 2000, and by Bob Katter (Kennedy, Qld) who resigned from the National Party in July 2001.

There have been a number of independent members of the House of Representatives in recent years. All, apart from Andren, were previously elected as members of a party. Andren and Ted Mack (North Sydney, 1990-96) have been the only genuine independents to sit in the House in the post-war era.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email