Press "Enter" to skip to content

Media Ownership In Australia – 1999

Ownership of the Australian media is one of the most highly concentrated in the world.

According to Trevor Barr’s book,, in 1903 there were 21 capital city daily newspapers owned by 17 independent owners.

By 1960, there were 14 daily newspapers and 7 owners. By 1999, there were 12 daily newspapers in Australia, 10 of which were owned by two organisations, News Corporation and John Fairfax Holdings.

Only the West Australian and the Canberra Times are independently owned.

The following information is taken from, by Trevor Barr, (Allen & Unwin, 2000), p4.

News Corporation

Rupert Murdoch holds about 30% of News Corporation voting stock.

Click here to visit the News Corporation online news site


  • Australian
  • Herald Sun
  • Sunday Herald Sun
  • Daily Telegraph
  • Sunday Telegraph
  • Advertiser
  • Courier-Mail
  • Mercury
  • Northern Territory News
Subscription Television

  • 25% ownership of Foxtel Pay TV


  • Festival Records
  • Mushroom Records (50%)
  • National Rugby League (50%)

Publishing and Broadcasting Ltd

The Packer family holds a controlling shareholding of 35%.

Click here to visit the PBL website

Australian Consolidated Press
(wholly owned subsidiary of PBL)


  • Nine Network

Subscription Television

  • 25% ownership of Foxtel Pay TV


  • Crown Casino
  • Hoyts Cinemas

  • Bulletin
  • Australian Women’s Weekly
  • Woman’s Day
  • Cleo
  • Cosmopolitan
  • Dolly
  • People
  • Australian Personal Computer
  • Australian Home and Garden
  • Wheels

John Fairfax Holdings Ltd

Click here to visit the Fairfax website
Click here to visit the Fairfax website


  • Age
  • Sunday Age
  • Sydney Morning Herald
  • Australian Financial Review


  • Business Review Weekly
  • Personal Investment
  • Australian Geographic
  • Shares
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024