Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Independent Members – House – 2001

The table on this page shows the Independent members returned to the House of Representatives at the 2001 Federal Election.

The election was held on November 10, 2001.

Independent Members of the House of Representatives 2001
3 members
Name Division, State First
Andren, Peter James Calare, NSW
Katter, Hon. Robert Carl Kennedy, Qld
Windsor, Tony New England, NSW

Note: There have been a number of independent members of the House of Representatives in recent years. Tony Windsor now joins Peter Andren and Ted Mack (North Sydney 1990-96) as only the third genuinely independent member to be elected to the House. The others, including Bob Katter, were previously elected as members of political parties.

  • Peter Andren has never been a member of a political party.
  • Bob Katter held Kennedy for three terms as a member of the National Party, before resigning in July 2001.
  • Tony Windsor was once a member of the National Party. He was defeated for pre-selection for Gwydir in 1990 and was elected to the NSW Legislative Assembly seat of Tamworth in 1991.
Print Friendly, PDF & Email