Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Archives for 2004

Federal Election Pendulum Following The 2004 Election

The election pendulum ranks the 150 electorates in the House of Representatives won by each party on a two-party-preferred basis.

The electorate of Kennedy, held by the independent Bob Katter, has been placed in the coalition column. Katter originally won Kennedy for the National Party in 1993.

The electorate of Calare, held by the independent Peter Andren, has been placed in the ALP column on the basis that it is a non-government seat. [Read more…]

Election Funding Payments: 2004 Federal Election

This table shows the election funding payments made to political parties and candidates following the 2004 federal election.

A candidate or Senate group needs four per cent of the primary vote to be eligible for election funding. The amount is calculated by multiplying the number of votes obtained by the current funding rate.

The funding rate for the 2004 election was 194.397 cents per House of Representatives and Senate vote.

Just under $42 million was distributed to parties and candidates. [Read more…]

Mark Latham’s Final Parliamentary Speech

No-one knew it at the time, presumably not even Mark Latham himself, but his valedictory comments in the House of Representatives on December 9, 2004, were to be his last words in the parliament.


Latham had led the ALP to defeat at the federal election of October 9. The ALP went backwards, returning just 60 seats in the 150 seat lower house, a net loss of 5 from 2001. The party’s primary vote was 37.64%, its lowest since 1931.

After the election, Latham was re-elected leader of the ALP, but on January 18, 2005 he resigned the leadership and left parliament. His departure followed a bout of illness and mounting criticism of his low profile during the Asian tsunami in the post-Christmas period. At a Caucus meeting on January 28, Kim Beazley returned to the leadership. [Read more…]

Mark Scott Discusses The Future Of The Sydney Morning Herald

In a wide-ranging speech, Mark Scott, Editor in Chief of Fairfax newspapers, has painted an optimistic but challenging future for the Sydney Morning Herald and newspapers in general.

Addressing the Sydney Institute, Scott discussed the need to secure more online classified advertising and spoke of the demographics of newspaper readership. For example, surveys show that only 8% of consumers gain their news from the ABC and broadsheet publications. Justifying the Herald’s coverage of Australian Idol, Scott said: “Of the 3.3 million who watched the final episode, very many were the affluent and influential core of Herald readership.”

Online news pointed to the need for newspapers to be unique online and in print, Scott said. Referring to the content of the SMH, he said: “Our readers want good strong news, politics,
investigations and international affairs. But they also want pop culture and fashion and lifestyle journalism as well. Younger people in particular see entertainment as news. And all our readers want their news produced in a way that it can be easily read and understood, with clear graphics, strong pictures and a good mix of content. [Read more…]

ABC 2004 Election Coverage Review Released

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation has released a review of its 2004 election coverage.

In a statement releasing the report by Murray Green, the ABC says: “The ABC covered the Federal Election on television, radio and online with some 170 separate editorial teams in capital cities and in regional and rural Australia. These teams range from sole reporters in remote locations to the editorial staff of ABC local radio in capital cities, to national teams, in programs such as the 7.30 Report, as well as online journalists for Covering a federal election is the most extensive single editorial project undertaken by the ABC.” [Read more…]

Report On ABC Coverage Of The 2004 Federal Election

The Australian Broadcasting Corporation has released a report on its coverage of the 2004 Federal Election.

The Chairman of the Election Coverage Review Committee, Murray Green, said: “It was unprecedented, to my knowledge in ABC federal election coverage that, for the 2004 campaign, no written complaints were received from the campaign headquarters of any party.”

The report says the ABC received 993 complaints from listeners and viewers, compared to 1542 in the 2001 election.

2004 Primary Vote Winners, Preference Vote Losers

There were 8 seats in the 2004 federal election where the primary vote leader was defeated after the full distribution of preferences.

In all 8 seats, the coalition candidate led on primary votes but the seat was won by the ALP after preferences.

Primary Leads Overturned After Preference Distribution
House of Representatives – 2004
No. State Division Incumbent Leader Primary % Successful Candidate Primary % Two-Party %
NSW Parramatta Ross Cameron (LP) Ross Cameron (LP)
Julie Owens (ALP)
NSW Richmond Larry Anthony (NP) Larry Anthony (NP)
Justine Elliot (ALP)
SA Adelaide Trish Worth (LP) Trish Worth (LP)
Kate Ellis (ALP)
SA Hindmarsh Christine Gallus (LP)
Simon Birmingham (LP)
Steve Georganas (ALP)
VIC Bendigo Steve Gibbons (ALP) Kevin Gibbins (LP)
Steve Gibbons (ALP)
VIC Melbourne Ports Michael Danby (ALP David Southwick (LP)
Michael Danby (ALP)
WA Cowan Graham Edwards (ALP) Luke Simpkins (LP)
Graham Edwards (ALP)
WA Swan Kim Wilkie (ALP) Peter Murfin (LP)
Kim Wilkie (ALP)

These statistics show the full force of the preferential voting system. For example, Justine Elliot won Richmond, despite polling only 35.60% of the primary vote, because she gained the majority of second preferences from the minor candidates.

Overall, there were 61 electorates (40.6%) of the 150 where preference distribution was required to obtain a winner in 2004.

Laurie Ferguson Lashes Stephen Conroy Whilst Latham Reflects On His Leadership Style

After a weekend of confrontation with Senator Stephen Conroy, Mark Latham commented on his leadership style.

Meanwhile, Laurie Ferguson, the ALP member for Reid since 1990, offered Shadow Immigration Minister Conroy a free character analysis and political assessment. [Read more…]

Howard And Rudd Comment On ASEAN Non-Aggression Treaty

As Prime Minister John Howard flies out to attend the ASEAN Leaders’ Summit, he has commented on the ASEAN Non-Aggression Treaty.

The Opposition’s Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs, Kevin Rudd, also commented on the treaty.

ASEAN is the Association of South-East Asian Nations. The organisation was formed in 1967. Its members are: Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar (Burma), and Vietnam.

Australia and New Zealand attend the Leader’s Summits but neither country is a formal member of ASEAN. [Read more…]

Malcolm Turnbull (Lib-Wentworth) – Maiden Speech

This is the maiden speech to the House of Representatives of Malcolm Turnbull, Liberal member for Wentworth.

Turnbull was elected to the NSW electorate of Wentworth after he defeated the previous Liberal member, Peter King, in a hard-fought preselection contest.

Best known as the chairman of the Australian Republican Movement, Turnbull had a career in journalism, the law and business before entering the parliament at the age of 50. [Read more…]