Press "Enter" to skip to content

Kerry Wins Iowa Caucus; Edwards Second; Dean’s Extraordinary Non-Concession Speech

Senator John Kerry has won the Democratic Party’s Iowa caucus.

Kerry polled 37.6% of the vote. Senator John Edwards came second with 31.8%, whilst Howard Dean polled 18.0% and Richard Gephardt 10.6%.

The candidates each gave election night speeches. Howard Dean’s extraordinary speech could best be classified as a “non-concession concession speech”.

  • Listen to Senator John Kerry (19m)
  • Listen to Senator John Edwards (6m)
  • Listen to Howard Dean (9m)
  • Listen to Richard Gephardt 9m)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2023