Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rudd Announces New Labor Government Ministry

The Prime Minister-elect, Kevin Rudd, has announced his new ministry at a press conference in Canberra.

One of the most significant changes is that Deputy Prime Minister Julia Gillard will be both Education Minister and Employment & Workplace Relations Minister.

The highly-regarded Senator John Faulkner has been appointed Special Minister of State and Cabinet Secretary.

The ministry will be sworn in by the Governor-General next Monday.

  • Listen to Kevin Rudd’s Press Conference (50m)
  • Listen to Rudd Address the ALP Caucus (1m)

The Rudd Ministry


  1. Prime Minister: Kevin Rudd
  2. Deputy Prime Minister, Education, Employment and Workplace Relations, Social Inclusion: Julia Gillard
  3. Treasurer: Wayne Swan
  4. Immigration and Citizenship, Leader of the Government in the Senate: Sen. Chris Evans
  5. Special Minister of State, Cabinet Secretary, Vice President of the Executive Council: Sen. John Faulkner
  6. Trade: Simon Crean
  7. Foreign Affairs: Stephen Smith
  8. Defence: Joel Fitzgibbon
  9. Health and Ageing: Nicola Roxon
  10. Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs: Jenny Macklin
  11. Finance and Deregulation: Lindsay Tanner
  12. Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development, Local Government, Leader of the House: Anthony Albanese
  13. Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy, Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate: Sen. Stephen Conroy
  14. Innovation, Industry, Science and Research: Sen. Kim Carr
  15. Climate Change and Water: Sen. Penny Wong
  16. Environment, Heritage and The Arts: Peter Garrett
  17. Attorney General: Robert McClelland
  18. Human Services, Manager of Government Business in the Senate: Sen. Joe Ludwig
  19. Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry: Tony Burke
  20. Resources and Energy, Tourism: Martin Ferguson

Outer Ministry:

  1. Home Affairs: Bob Debus
  2. Assistant Treasurer, Competition Policy and Consumer Affairs: Chris Bowen
  3. Veterans’ Affairs: Alan Griffin
  4. Housing, Status of Women: Tanya Plibersek
  5. Employment Participation: Brendan O’Connor
  6. Defence Science and Personnel: Warren Snowdon
  7. Small Business, Independent Contractors and the Service Economy, Assisting the Finance Minister on Deregulation: Craig Emerson
  8. Superannuation and Corporate Governance: Sen. Nick Sherry
  9. Ageing: Justine Elliot
  10. Youth, Sport: Kate Ellis

Parliamentary Secretaries:

  1. Prime Minister and Cabinet: Maxine McKew
  2. Defence: Greg Combet
  3. Defence: Mike Kelly
  4. Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development: Gary Gray
  5. Families, Housing, Community Servies and Indigenous Affairs: Bill Shorten
  6. Foreign Affairs: Bob McMullan
  7. Foreign Affairs: Duncan Kerr
  8. Prime Minister and Cabinet: Anthony Byrne
  9. Social Inclusion and the Voluntary Sector: Sen. Ursula Stephens
  10. Trade: John Murphy
  11. Health and Ageing: Sen. Jan McLucas
  12. Immigration and Citizenship: Laurie Ferguson


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024