Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Election Funding Rate Increased To $2.34 Per Vote

The Australian Electoral Commission has notified the latest indexation increase in the election funding rate.

The amount of election funding payable is calculated by multiplying the number of formal first preference votes received by the rate of payment applicable at the time. This rate is indexed every six months in line with increases in the Consumer Price Index.

The current election funding rate from 1 January 2011 to 30 June 2011 is 234.196 cents per eligible vote.

Recent historical rates:

  • 2010 federal election 231.191 cents
  • 2009 Bradfield and Higgins by-elections 224.851 cents
  • 2008 Lyne and Mayo by-elections 218.940 cents
  • 2008 Gippsland by-election 214.018 cents
  • 2007 federal election 210.027 cents
  • 2004 federal election 194.397 cents
  • 2001 federal election 179.026 cents
  • 1998 federal election 162.210 cents
  • 1996 federal election 157.594 cents
  • 1993 federal election 100.787 cents per House of Reps vote, 50.393 cents per Senate vote
  • 1990 federal election 91.223 cents per House of Reps vote, 45.611 cents per Senate vote
  • 1987 federal election 76.296 cents per House of Reps vote, 38.148 cents per Senate vote
  • 1984 federal election 61.2 cents per House of Reps vote, 30.6 cents per Senate vote

Source: This information is taken from a release from the A.E.C.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email