Press "Enter" to skip to content

New Enrolment Quota Set in South Australian Redistribution

As part of its redistribution of electoral boundaries in South Australia, the Australian Electoral Commission has determined that the enrolment quota is 100,636.

This means that each of the 11 electorates in South Australia will be redrawn to ensure that as near as possible they contain that number of voters. Electorates are allowed to vary by 10% above or below the quota. Projected population growth and decline will be taken into consideration to ensure that over time electorates converge on the quota figure.

Redistributions are required in each state every 7 years. A Victorian redistribution has just been completed. The new boundaries in both states will take effect from the next general election, due in late 2013.

This is the text of a media release from the Australian Electoral Commission.

The acting Electoral Commissioner, Mr Paul Dacey, has announced the first step in the process of redistributing the federal electoral boundaries in South Australia by setting the enrolment quota.

“The enrolment quota for the redistribution in South Australia is 100 636,” Mr Dacey said.

The enrolment quota was determined by dividing the number of electors enrolled in South Australia as at 12 January 2011, which is the date the redistribution formally commenced, by the number of House of Representative seats to which the state is entitled (11).

When the boundaries are redrawn during the redistribution process, each electoral division must have between 90 573 and 110 699 electors – that is, a margin of up to 10% variation is allowed from the quota.

A media release was issued by the Electoral Commissioner on 12 January 2011 advising that under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 a redistribution of federal electoral boundaries was required in South Australia as seven years had elapsed since the last redistribution. South Australia’s current entitlement to 11 seats in the House of Representatives will remain unchanged.

“A Redistribution Committee will soon be formed to begin the task of redrawing electoral boundaries within South Australia,” Mr Dacey said.

The Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 requires that the Redistribution Committee comprise the Electoral Commissioner, the Australian Electoral Officer for the state, as well as two senior state officials, usually the state’s Surveyor-General and Auditor-General or equivalent positions.

“The Redistribution Committee will undertake an extensive process of consultation and provide opportunities for individuals and organisations to make suggestions and comments on matters affecting the drawing of federal electoral boundaries and the naming of divisions.”

Public suggestions and comments about the redistribution will be invited in early April. The redistribution process is expected to be finalised on 16 December this year.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024