Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Second Gillard Ministry – Revised 2011

This is the revised list of ministers and parliamentary secretaries in the Second Gillard government that took office in September 2010.

A PDF document appears at the end of this page.


  1. Prime Minister: Julia Gillard
  2. Treasurer/Deputy Prime Minister: Wayne Swan
  3. Minister for Foreign Affairs: Kevin Rudd
  4. Minister for Tertiary Education, Skills, Jobs, and Workplace Relations (Leader of the Government in the Senate): Senator Chris Evans
  5. Minister for Regional Australia, Regional Development and Local Government; Minister for the Arts: Simon Crean
  6. Minister for Defence (Deputy Leader of the House): Stephen Smith
  7. Minister for Health and Ageing: Nicola Roxon
  8. Minister for Families, Housing, Community Services and Indigenous Affairs: Jenny Macklin
  9. Minister for Infrastructure and Transport (Leader of the House): Anthony Albanese
  10. Minister for Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy; Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Digital Productivity (Deputy Leader of the Government in the Senate): Senator Stephen Conroy
  11. Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research: Senator Kim Carr
  12. Minister for Finance and Deregulation: Senator Penny Wong
  13. Minister for School Education, Early Childhood and Youth: Peter Garrett
  14. Attorney-General (Vice-President of the Executive Council): Robert McClelland
  15. Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry; Minister Assisting the Attorney-General on Queensland Floods Recovery (Manager of Government Business in the Senate): Senator Joseph Ludwig
  16. Minister for Sustainability, Environment, Water, Population and Communities: Tony Burke
  17. Minister for Resources and Energy; Minister for Tourism: Martin Ferguson
  18. Minister for Immigration and Citizenship: Chris Bowen
  19. Minister for Trade: Dr. Craig Emerson
  20. Minister for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency: Greg Combet

Outer Ministry

  1. Minister for Human Services; Minister for Social Inclusion: Tanya Plibersek
  2. Minister for Home Affairs; Minister for Justice; Minister for Privacy and Freedom of Information: Brendan O’Connor
  3. Minister for Employment Participation and Childcare; Minister for the Status of Women: Kate Ellis
  4. Minister for Indigenous Employment and Economic Development; Minister for Sport; Minister for Social Housing and Homelessness: Senator Mark Arbib
  5. Minister for Small Business; Minister Assisting on Reregulation and Public Sector Superannuation; Minister Assisting the Minister for Tourism: Senator Nick Sherry
  6. Minister for Veterans Affairs; Minister for Defence Science and Personnel; Minister for Indigenous Health; Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Centenary of ANZAC: Warren Snowdon
  7. Assistant Treasurer; Minister for Financial Services and Superannuation: Bill Shorten
  8. Minister for Mental Health and Ageing; Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on Mental Health Reform: Mark Butler
  9. Special Minister of State for the Public Service and Integrity: Gary Gray
  10. Minister for Defence Materiel: Jason Clare

Parliamentary Secretaries

  1. Parliamentary Secretary to the Treasurer: David Bradbury
  2. Parliamentary Secretary for School Education and Workplace Relations: Senator Jacinta Collins
  3. Parliamentary Secretary for Community Services: Julie Collins
  4. Parliamentary Secretary for Climate Change and Energy Efficiency; Cabinet Secretary: Mark Dreyfus
  5. Parliamentary Secretary for Trade: Justine Elliot
  6. Parliamentary Secretary for Sustainability and Urban Water: Senator Don Farrell
  7. Parliamentary Secretary for Defence: Senator David Feeney
  8. Parliamentary Secretary for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry: Mike Kelly
  9. Parliamentary Secretary for Health and Ageing; Parliamentary Secretary for Infrastructure and Transport: Catherine King
  10. Parliamentary Secretary for Immigration and Multicultural Affairs; Parliamentary Secretary to the Prime Minister: Senator Kate Lundy
  11. Parliamentary Secretary for Pacific Island Affairs: Richard Marles
  12. Parliamentarty Secretary for Disabilities and Carers: Senator Jan McLucas

Print Friendly, PDF & Email