Press "Enter" to skip to content

Colin Barnett Wins Easy Re-Election To Second Term In Western Australia

Last updated on March 16, 2024

The first-term Liberal-Nationals government led by Premier Colin Barnett has been comfortably re-elected with an increased majority in today’s Western Australian state election.

The ALP appears to have lost 6 seats to the Liberals: Forrestfield, Morley, Balcatta, Joondalup, Belmong, and Perth. Pilbara has gone to the Nationals leader Brendon Grylls. The Liberals have retained all of their seats. The Labor-held seats of Albany, Collie-Preston and Kimberley are not yet decided.

Premier Colin Barnett claims victory in the WA election

The Liberal Party appears likely to have 32 seats, the Nationals 8 and the ALP 19. Four seats remain in doubt so this may change.

The Liberal Party’s primary vote has increased 8.8% to 47.1%. The Nationals are up 1% to 5.9%. The ALP primary vote fell 2.4% to 33.4%, not quite as bad as the 32% predicted in yesterday’s Newspoll.

The Greens vote is down 3.6% to 8.3%. They appear set to lose all their seats in the upper house.

Measured by the two-party-preferred vote, it is a significant defeat for the ALP. The coalition parties have approximately 57.5% of the two-party vote to the ALP’s 42.5%. There has been a swing of 6.3% against the ALP.

Opposition Leader Mark McGowan concedes defeat in the WA election

  • Listen to ALP Opposition Leader Mark McGowan concede defeat (15m)
  • Listen to Coalition Premier Colin Barnett claim victory (6m)
Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024