Press "Enter" to skip to content

Rudd Formally Resigns As Member For Griffith

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Bronwyn Bishop, has confirmed that she has received a letter of resignation from Kevin Rudd.

The former prime minister’s resignation as the Labor member for Griffith in Queensland brings to an end a 15-year parliamentary career.

Rudd was first elected on October 3, 1998. He served in five full parliaments, winning re-election in 2001, 2004, 2007, 2010 and 2013. He was twice prime minister, defeating John Howard in 2007, then losing the leadership to Julia Gillard in 2010, before replacing her in June this year and then losing the 2013 election. He relinquished the ALP leadership on election night.

A by-election in Griffith will take place, probably in early February before the return of Parliament for the new year. The ALP holds the seat with a margin of 3.01%.

Rudd’s departure brings to an end a tumultuous period in Labor Party history. It caps a dramatic year of three prime ministers – Gillard, Rudd and Abbott – and brings to an end the rivalry with Gillard that has so divided the ALP and public opinion.

This video was produced by The Australian:

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024