Press "Enter" to skip to content

Current Federal Parliamentary Leaders

Each political party represented in the Federal Parliament elects leaders in each house.

Just as the government is decided in the House of Representatives, so the parties elect their leaders and deputy leaders from amongst their representatives in the House. If the party is not represented in the lower house, its leader will be chosen from amongst its members in the Senate.

These tables are correct as of February 11, 2016. They take account of the replacement of Warren Truss as leader of The Nationals with Barnaby Joyce.

House of Representatives
Party Leader Deputy Leader
Liberal Party Malcolm Turnbull
Member for Wentworth (NSW)
Julie Bishop
Member for Curtin (WA)
National Party Barnaby Joyce
Member for New England
Senator Fiona Nash (NSW) Federal Parliamentary Deputy Leader
Australian Labor Party Bill Shorten
Member for Maribyrnong (Vic)
Tanya Plibersek
Member for Sydney (NSW)

The major parties also elect leaders and deputy leaders in the Senate. These people form part of the leadership group and act as the focal point for their parties in the upper house.

For example, the current Liberal leader in the Senate, George Brandis, is referred to as the Government Leader in the Senate. Senator Penny Wong is referred to as the Opposition Leader in the Senate.

Party Leader Deputy Leader
Liberal Party Senator George Brandis
Senator Mathias Cormann
(Western Australia)
National Party Senator Nigel Scullion
(Northern Territory)
Senator Fiona Nash
(New South Wales)
Australian Labor Party Senator Penny Wong
(South Australia)
Senator Stephen Conroy
Australian Greens Senator Richard Di Natale
Joint Co-Deputy Leaders
Senator Larissa Waters
Senator Scott Ludlam
(Western Australian)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024