Press "Enter" to skip to content

Turnbull Reshuffles Ministry

Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull has announced a major reshuffle of his ministry, in the aftermath of this week’s retirements and resignations.

The major casualty is NSW Nationals MP Luke Hartsuyker, who is the only minister to be dumped. His removal is partly a matter of geography, given the change in Nationals leadership.

There are three new faces in Cabinet: Senator Fiona Nash (NATS), Darren Chester (NATS), and Steve Ciobo (LNP). Nash becomes Minister for Regional Development, Minister for Regional Communications and Minister for Rural Health. Chester becomes Minister for Infrastructure and Transport. Ciobo takes over Trade and Investment from Andrew Robb.

The First Turnbull ministry – revised February 13, 2016.

The First Turnbull Ministry


1. Prime Minister – Malcolm Turnbull

2. Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources – Barnaby Joyce

3. Minister for Foreign Affairs – Julie Bishop

4. Minister for Trade and Investment – Steve Ciobo

5. Minister for Regional Development, Minister for Regional Communications, Minister for Rural Health – Senator Fiona Nash

6. Minister for Infrastructure and Transport – Darren Chester

7. Attorney-General – Senator George Brandis

8. Treasurer – Scott Morrison

9. Assistant Treasurer, Minister for Small Business – Kelly O’Dwyer

10. Minister for Finance, Special Minister of State – Senator Mathias Cormann

11. Minister for Industry, Innovation and Science – Christopher Pyne

12. Minister for Resources, Energy and Northern Australia – Josh Frydenberg

13. Minister for Immigration and Border Protection – Peter Dutton

14. Minister for the Environment – Greg Hunt

15. Minister for Health, Minister for Aged Care, Minister for Sport – Sussan Ley

16. Minister for Defence – Senator Marise Payne

17. Minister for Communications, Minister for the Arts – Senator Mitch Fifield

18. Minister for Women, Minister for Employment, Minister Assisting the PM for the Public Service – Senator Michaelia Cash

19. Minister for Social Services – Christian Porter

20. Minister for Education and Training – Simon Birmingham

21. Minister for Indigenous Affairs – Senator Nigel Scullion

22. Cabinet Secretary – Senator Arthur Sinodinos


1. Minister for Justice, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister for Counter-Terrorism – Michael Keenan

2. Minister for International Development and the Pacific – Senator Concetta Fierravanti-Wells

3. Minister for Tourism and International Education, Minister Assisting the Minister for Trade and Investment – Senator Richard Colbeck

4. Minister for Major Projects, Territories and Local Government – Paul Fletcher

5. Minister for Northern Australia – Senator Matt Canavan

6. Minister for Defence Materiel, Minister for Veterans’ Affairs, Minister Assisting the PM for the Centenary of ANZAC – Dan Tehan

7. Minister for Human Services – Alan Tudge

8. Minister for Vocational Education and Skills – Senator Scott Ryan


1. Assistant Minister for the Prime Minister, Assistant Minister for Immigration – Senator James McGrath

2. Assistant Minister to the PM for Cities and Digital Transformation – Angus Taylor

3. Assistant Cabinet Secretary, Assistant Minister for Finance – Peter Hendy

4. Assistant Minister for Agriculture and Water Resources – Senator Anne Ruston

5. Assistant Minister to the Deputy Prime Minister – Keith Pitt

6. Assistant Minister to the Treasurer – Alex Hawke

7. Assistant Minister for Science – Karen Andrews

8. Assistant Minister for Innovation – Wyatt Roy

9. Assistant Minister for Health and Aged Care – Ken Wyatt

10. Assistant Minister for Defence – Michael McCormack

11. Assistant Minister for Multicultural Affairs – Craig Laundy

12. Assistant Minister for Disability Services – Jane Prentice

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024