Press "Enter" to skip to content

Political Figures Feature In Queen’s Birthday Honours

Political, vice-regal and government figures feature in the Queen’s Birthday Honours list released today.

The Governor of South Australia, Hieu Van Le, and the Governor of Western Australia, Kerry Sanderson, were each awarded the highest honour, the Companion (AC) in the General Division of the Order of Australia.

ACs were also awarded to the retiring Governor of the Reserve Bank, Glenn Stevens, and to the former Secretary of the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet under Julia Gillard and Tony Abbott, Ian Watt.

In the Officer division, the AO award, four former MPs were honoured. Ric Charlesworth, the ALP member for Perth from 1983 until 1993, received the award for his service to sport and parliament. Judi Moylan, the Liberal member for Pearce (1993-2013) received the AO for services to parliament, women and advocacy for people with diabetes. Kay Patterson, a Liberal senator from 1987-2008 and former Howard government minister, received the award in recognition of her service to parliament and to public policy, particularly for women, and as a senior academic. Alan Stockdale, the Liberal member for Brighton (1985-99) was honoured for his service as Treasurer in the Victorian Kennett government (1992-99).

An AO was also awarded to Warren Mundine, a former president of the ALP (2006-07). Mundine has since left the ALP.

The foreign affairs writer at The Australian, Greg Sheridan, also received the AO for “distinguished service to print media as a journalist and political commentator on foreign affairs and national security, and to Australia’s bilateral relationships”.

In the Member division, the AM award was awarded to Cheryl Edwardes, the Liberal member for Kingsley in the Western Australian Legislative Assembly (1989-2015). Edwardes was a Minister in the Court government in the 1990s. The AM was also awarded to George Souris, the former NSW Nationals leader (1999-2003) and the member for Upper Hunter (1988-2015).

The AM was also awarded to Kevin Donnelly, a Liberal Party member and former teacher, who was appointed by the Abbott government to review the national curriculum.

In the Medal division, the OAM was awarded to Peter Lindsay, the former Liberal member for Herbert (1996-2010), and Ivan Trayling, the ALP member for Melbourne Province in the Victorian Legislative Council (1972-82).

The full list of Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients appears below, as do the biographies of the AC winners.

Text of media release from the Governor-General, Sir Peter Cosgrove.

The Queen’s Birthday 2016 Honours List

The Governor-General and Chancellor of the Order of Australia, His Excellency General the Honourable Sir Peter Cosgrove AK MC (Retd), has approved awards announced today in The Queen’s Birthday 2016 Honours List.

The Queen’s Birthday 2016 Honours List recognises a diverse range of contributions and service across all fields, including professional endeavours, community work, Australia’s Defence Force and Emergency Services.

“To all recipients, I offer my deepest congratulations, admiration and respect for your contribution to our nation,” the Governor-General said.

“We are fortunate as a community to have so many outstanding people willing to dedicate themselves to the betterment of our nation and it is only fitting that they have today been recognised through the Australian Honours system.

“Since 1975 these awards have helped to define, encourage and reinforce Australian goals and values. They identify role models who give without thought of recognition or personal gain.

“Today’s recipients now join the company of more than 40,000 women and men whose actions have enriched our community and our lives. Their qualities – compassion, dedication, generosity, selflessness, tolerance, and energetic ambition – inspire and motivate us.

“For over 40 years these honours have helped to define, encourage and reinforce our national aspirations and ideals by acknowledging exceptional Australians. Today, we add a new group of names to those we should all admire.

“On behalf of all Australians, I thank them for their contributions. We are a stronger, safer and more caring nation because of them.”

Included in The Queen’s Birthday 2016 Honours List are 565 recipients of awards in the General Division of the Order of Australia who have been recognised for contributions and service to fellow citizens in Australia and internationally.

Chair of the Council of the Order of Australia, Air Chief Marshal Sir Angus Houston AK AFC (Retd) said the awards recognise service across a broad range of fields.

“They are public recognition of people who provide outstanding community service and whose achievements enhance national identity,” Sir Angus said.

“By their actions they demonstrate the qualities of positive role models. The recipients are not only worthy of respect but encourage emulation.

“These awards also recognise the ‘quiet achievers’ in our midst. They are people who serve the community, but do not seek accolades.

“All Australians are encouraged to nominate fellow citizens who have made outstanding contributions to the wellbeing of others for national recognition in the Honours List.”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024