Press "Enter" to skip to content

Shorten Announces ALP Shadow Ministry Portfolio Allocations

The Leader of the Opposition, Bill Shorten, has announced his allocation of portfolios for the ALP’s Shadow Ministry.

The 48-member executive includes 22 members in the Shadow Cabinet, 10 in the Shadow Outer Ministry and 16 Shadow Assistant Ministers (Parliamentary Secretaries). The total Caucus numbers are not yet final but are likely to be around 95 members. About half of the Caucus will be members of the shadow executive.

A number of positions in the Shadow Cabinet have changed hands, although Chris Bowen remains Shadow Treasurer. The biggest winner of the reshuffle is the second-term MP Jim Chalmers, who has been made Shadow Minister for Finance and moves into the Shadow Cabinet.

In other changes, deputy leader Tanya Plibersek has been moved into the high-profile domestic portfolio of Education. The party’s Senate leader, Penny Wong, takes Foreign Affairs.

Senator Kim Carr, for whom the shadow ministry has been expanded from 30 to 32, retains the portfolio of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research.

Another significant change sees Michelle Rowland take over Communications, whilst Defence goes to Richard Marles and Senator Stephen Conroy takes on Special Minister of State and Sport. The relatively unknown Queenslander, Shayne Neumann, becomes Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection.

Amongst the new members of the shadow outer ministry, Senator Sam Dastyari takes Consumer Affairs, Linda Burney goes into Human Services, Ed Husic takes Employment Services and Workforce Participation, and Clare O’Neil takes Justice.

Shorten has appointed 16 parliamentary secretaries. Michael Danby and Graham Perrett have been dropped. The former and now re-elected Senator Louise Pratt becomes Shadow Assistant Minister for Families and Communities. Mike Kelly, re-elected to Eden-Monaro, takes on Defence Industry and Support, whilst Senator Pat Dodson will assist Shorten in Indigenous Affairs and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders. The other newly-appointed shadow assistant ministers are Pat Conroy, Terri Butler, Lisa Chesters and Andrew Giles.

The new member for Perth, Tim Hammond, a national senior vice-president of the ALP, has been moved straight into the shadow executive with 3 shadow assistant portfolios.

Because of the factional considerations that led to the increased size of the Shadow Cabinet, Andrew Leigh and Senator Sam Dastyari will not receive extra pay for their positions. For Leigh, this represents a cut of around $40,000.

The full list of Shadow Ministry portfolios.


1. Bill Shorten
Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders

2. Tanya Plibersek
Deputy Leader of the Opposition
Shadow Minister for Education
Shadow Minister for Women

3. Senator Penny Wong
Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
Shadow Minister for Foreign Affairs

4. Senator Stephen Conroy
Deputy Leader of the Opposition in the Senate
Shadow Special Minister of State
Shadow Minister for Sport

5. Kate Ellis
Shadow Minister for Early Childhood Education and Development
Shadow Minister for TAFE and Vocational Education

6. Chris Bowen
Shadow Treasurer

7. Senator Katy Gallagher
Shadow Minister for Small Business and Financial Services

8. Tony Burke
Shadow Minister for Environment and Water
Shadow Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Australia
Shadow Minister for the Arts
Manager of Opposition Business (House)

9. Mark Butler
Shadow Minister for Climate Change and Energy

10. Jenny Macklin
Shadow Minister for Families and Social Services

11. Richard Marles
Shadow Minister for Defence

12. Anthony Albanese
Shadow Minister for Infrastructure, Transport, Cities and Regional Development
Shadow Minister for Tourism

13. Jim Chalmers
Shadow Minister for Finance

14. Brendan O’Connor
Shadow Minister for Employment and Workplace Relations

15. Mark Dreyfus
Shadow Attorney-General
Shadow Minister for National Security
Deputy Manager of Opposition Business (House)

16. Shayne Neumann
Shadow Minister for Immigration and Border Protection

17. Senator Kim Carr
Shadow Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

18. Michelle Rowland
Shadow Minister for Communications

19. Joel Fitzgibbon
Shadow Minister for Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry
Shadow Minister for Rural and Regional Australia

20. Jason Clare
Shadow Minister for Resources and Northern Australia
Shadow Minister for Trade and Investment

21. Catherine King
Shadow Minister for Health and Medicare

22. Julie Collins
Shadow Minister for Ageing and Mental Health


1. Senator Doug Cameron
Shadow Minister for Skills and Apprenticeships
Shadow Minister for Housing and Homelessness

2. Senator Claire Moore
Shadow Minister for International Development and the Pacific

3. Andrew Leigh
Shadow Assistant Treasurer
Shadow Minister for Competition and Productivity
Shadow Minister for Charities and Not-for-Profits
Shadow Minister for Trade in Services

4. Senator Sam Dastyari
Shadow Minister for Consumer Affairs
Manager of Opposition Business (Senate)

5. Linda Burney
Shadow Minister for Human Services

6. Senator Carol Brown
Shadow Minister for Disability and Carers

7. Amanda Rishworth
Shadow Minister for Veterans’ Affairs
Shadow Minister for Defence Personnel

8. Stephen Jones
Shadow Minister for Regional Services, Territories and Local Government
Shadow Minister for Regional Communications

9. Ed Husic
Shadow Minister for Employment Services and Workforce Participation

10. Clare O’Neil
Shadow Minister for Justice


1. Senator Patrick Dodson
Shadow Assistant Minister for Indigenous Affairs and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders

2. Senator Jacinta Collins
Shadow Cabinet Secretary
Shadow Assistant Minister for Early Childhood
Shadow Assistant Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Australia

3. Terri Butler
Shadow Assistant Minister for Family Violence and Child Safety
Shadow Assistant Minister for Universities
Shadow Assistant Minster for Equality

4. Tim Hammond
Shadow Assistant Minister for Digital Economy and Startups
Shadow Assistant Minister for Innovation
Shadow Assistant Minister for Resources and Western Australia

5. Senator Helen Polley
Shadow Assistant Minister to the Leader (Tasmania)
Shadow Assistant Minister for Ageing

6. Andrew Giles
Shadow Assistant Minister for Schools

7. Matt Thistlethwaite
Shadow Assistant Minister for Treasury

8. Julie Owens
Shadow Assistant Minister for Small Business
Shadow Assistant Minister for Citizenship and Multicultural Australia

9. Pat Conroy
Shadow Assistant Minister for Climate Change
Shadow Assistant Minister for Infrastructure

10. Senator Louise Pratt
Shadow Assistant Minister for Families and Communities

11. Gai Brodtmann
Shadow Assistant Minister for Cyber Security and Defence Personnel

12. Mike Kelly
Shadow Assistant Minister for Defence Industry and Support

13. Warren Snowdon
Shadow Assistant Minister for the Centenary of ANZAC
Shadow Assistant Minister for External Territories
Shadow Assistant Minister for Northern Australia

14. Lisa Chesters
Shadow Assistant Minister for Workplace Relations
Shadow Assistant Minister for Rural and Regional Australia

15. Nick Champion
Shadow Assistant Minister for Manufacturing and Science

16. Tony Zappia
Shadow Assistant Minister for Medicare

The official list of Shadow Ministry portfolios. Click to enlarge.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024