Press "Enter" to skip to content

Current Federal Parliamentary Leaders

Each political party represented in the Federal Parliament elects leaders in each house.

Just as the government is decided in the House of Representatives, so the parties elect their leaders and deputy leaders from amongst their representatives in the House. If the party is not represented in the lower house, its leader will be chosen from amongst its members in the Senate.

These tables are correct as of the first day of the 2017 sittings of the 45th Parliament. Following the retirement of Senator Stephen Conroy on September 30, 2016, the ALP elected Senator Don Farrell as its deputy leader in the Senate.

House of Representatives
Party Leader Deputy Leader
Liberal Party Malcolm Turnbull
Wentworth (NSW)
Julie Bishop
Curtin (WA)
National Party Barnaby Joyce
New England (NSW)
Senator Fiona Nash (NSW) Parliamentary Deputy Leader
Australian Labor Party Bill Shorten
Maribyrnong (Vic)
Tanya Plibersek
Sydney (NSW)

The major parties also elect leaders and deputy leaders in the Senate. These people form part of the leadership group and act as the focal point for their parties in the upper house.

For example, the current Liberal leader in the Senate, George Brandis, is referred to as the Government Leader in the Senate. Senator Penny Wong is referred to as the Opposition Leader in the Senate.

Party Leader Deputy Leader
Liberal Party Sen. George Brandis
Sen. Mathias Cormann
(Western Australia)
National Party Sen. Nigel Scullion
(Northern Territory)
Sen. Fiona Nash
(New South Wales)
Australian Labor Party Sen. Penny Wong
(South Australia)
Sen. Don Farrell
(South Australia)
Australian Greens Sen. Richard Di Natale
Joint Co-Deputy Leaders
Sen. Larissa Waters
Sen. Scott Ludlam
(Western Australian)
Pauline Hanson’s One Nation Sen. Pauline Hanson
Nick Xenophon Team Sen. Nick Xenophon
(South Australia)


Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024