Press "Enter" to skip to content

Scott Morrison Announces Third Term Coalition Ministry

Prime Minister Scott Morrison has announced his new ministry, following the coalition’s re-election on May 18.

The ministry is the Coalition’s third since winning office in 2013, with re-elections in 2016 and 2019. It is the Second Morrison Ministry.

Prime Minister Scott Morrison announces his ministry

The major positions in the government are unchanged, with Josh Frydenberg remaining Treasurer and Mathias Cormann holding Finance. Marise Payne stays as Foreign Minister, whilst Linda Reynolds retains Defence. Peter Dutton remains Minister for Home Affairs, Greg Hunt stays in Health, Simon Birmingham in Trade and Dan Tehan in Education.

Melissa Price has been dropped from the Cabinet after a poor performance in Environment. She will now be Minister for Defence Industry. Sussan Ley returns to the Cabinet in the Environment portfolio.

Senator Arthur Sinodinos has been appointed Ambassador to the United States. He will take up the position when Joe Hockey’s term expires early next year. Sinodinos’ departure from the Senate may allow the Liberal Party to re-appoint Senator Jim Molan, who lost his seat at the election.

Senator Mitch Fifield will leave the Communications portfolio and will be replaced by Paul Fletcher. Fifield will also leave the Senate to take up the post of Ambassador to the United Nations. His Senate casual vacancy could go to Sarah Henderson, who lost her seat of Corangamite at the election.

Ken Wyatt becomes the Minister for Indigenous Australians, and will be the first indigenous MP to be appointed to Cabinet.

The Cabinet will have seven women, the largest number ever.

Newcomers to the ministry include Victorian Senator Jane Hume and Michelle Landry, the member for Capricornia, who won a third term with a big swing at the election.

Michael Sukkar, the member for Deakin, is returned to the ministry as Assistant Treasurer.

The official list of Cabinet ministers, members of the outer ministry and Assistant Ministers (parliamentary secretaries) is shown below.

Listen to Morrison’s press conference (24m)

Watch Morrison’s press conference (24m)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024