Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Valedictory Speeches – 2019


I’ve always been a fan of three types of parliamentary speeches: maiden (or first) speeches, condolence speeches, and valedictory speeches. Some of the most natural speeches and thoughtful comments can be heard in all of these.

Cathy McGowanCathy McGowan (Ind-Indi) delivers her valedictory speech

Not every member gets to deliver a valedictory speech. Those who announce their retirement, or those who lose preselection, are always given a chance to make a farewell speech.

Those who lose their seat depart without acknowledgement of their service. Some of these are unexpected defeats, others are marginal seats where the member knew they had a fight on their hands but wouldn’t dare make a valedictory speech.

The five valedictory speeches shown below were all given in February 2019 by members who announced their retirement.

Five-a-Day – Valedictory Speeches (2019)

February 19, 2019: Wayne Swan, ALP member for Lilley, former Treasurer and Deputy Prime Minister. Member since 1993.

February 20, 2019: Jenny Macklin, ALP member for Jagajaga, senior minister under Rudd and Gillard. Member since 1996.

April 4, 2019: Christopher Pyne, Liberal member for Sturt, minister under Howard, Abbott, Turnbull and Morrison, Leader of the House. Member since 1993.

February 21, 2019: Julie Bishop, Liberal member for Curtin, minister under Howard, Abbott, Turnbull, Morrison. Foreign Minister. Deputy Liberal leader. Member since 1998.

April 4, 2019: Cathy McGowan, independent member for Indi. Member since 2013.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email