Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Steve Fielding, Family First Senator-Elect, Addresses National Press Club

Steve Fielding, the Family First senator-elect from Victoria, has addressed the National Press Club, in Canberra.

Fielding was elected last month at the federal election. His term begins next July 1.

The National Chairman of Family First, Peter Harris, also appeared at the Press Club and spoke about the organisational side of the party. [Read more…]

Louise Markus (Lib-Greenway) – Maiden Speech

The first member of the 41st parliament elected in 2004 to deliver what used to be known as a “maiden speech” was Louise Markus, the new Liberal member for Greenway.

Markus won the seat following the retirement of the Labor member, Frank Mossfield. She defeated the Labor candidate, Ed Husic. [Read more…]

Steve Georganas (ALP-Hindmarsh) – Maiden Speech

This is the first speech to the House of Representatives from Steve Georganas, the newly-elected Labor member for the South Australian electorate of Hindmarsh.

Hindmarsh is an inner western seat in Adelaide. Georganas defeated Christine Gallus, who had held the seat for the Liberal Party since 1993. His margin was 108 votes, a margin of 0.06%.

Georganas, 45, was most recently an advisor to the South Australian state minister Jay Weatherill. He contested the seat in 1998 and again in 2001.

Hansard transcript of maiden speech by Steve Georganas, ALP member for Hindmarsh.

The SPEAKER—Order! Before I call the honourable member for Hindmarsh, I remind honourable members that this is his first speech. I therefore ask that the House extend to him the usual courtesies.

Mr GEORGANAS (11:17 AM) —I would like to begin by congratulating the new Speaker of the House, the member for Wannon. Obviously the job of Speaker is very important, and I congratulate him on his position. It is an absolute privilege to be here and I would like to thank those in the electorate of Hindmarsh who decided to place their trust in me to be their local federal member of parliament. They have put me here and they will no doubt decide how long I stay here. I have been humbled by the words of support that I have received from members of the public. [Read more…]

Governor-General’s Address Opening The 41st Parliament

The Governor-General, Michael Jeffery, has officially opened the 41st Parliament following the elections of October 9, 2004.

The Governor-General’s speech is written by the government of the day and read to a joint meeting of members of both houses in the Senate chamber.

It is the culmination of a day of pomp and ceremony during which members are sworn in and the Speaker of the House of Representatives is chosen. The day ends with a 21-gun salute. [Read more…]

Tim Gartrell: 2004 Election Analysis

The most important factor contributing to the ALP’s 2004 election defeat “was whether people had a mortgage”, according to the National Secretary of the ALP, Tim Gartrell.

Addressing the National Press Club, Gartrell highlighted the difficult position the ALP now finds itself in: “Because of [the ALP’s] two consecutive poor election results, from July next year the Government will take control of the Senate, and the outcome means in the lower house we now need to gain more seats than either Whitlam required in 1972, Hawke required in 1983 or
Howard required in 1996 to win the next election.” [Read more…]

Seats Changing Hands At The 2004 Federal Election

The table on this page shows the seats that changed hands in the 2004 House of Representatives election.

A total of 15 seats changed hands. A new seat was created in Queensland (Bonner) and a South Australian seat (Bonython) was abolished. A number of seats had notional majorities for one side or the other, due to redistributions.

The ALP won 60 seats, a net loss of 5. It lost 8 seats to the Coalition (including the new and notionally ALP seat of Bonner) but won 4 back. The South Australian seat of Bonython was abolished in a redistribution and its sitting member transferred to the notionally Labor seat of Wakefield, but was defeated. The ALP also regained Cunningham, lost in a 2002 by-election to the Greens.

The Coalition won 87 seats, a net gain of 5. It won 9 seats from the ALP but also lost 4 to the ALP. The Coalition’s parliamentary majority was an overall 24 seats. It was the Howard government’s 4th consecutive election win and the second in a row in which the government increased its majority. [Read more…]

Latham: Positive Approach Failed Labor In 2004 Election

In his first major speech since the October 9 election, the Leader of the Opposition, Mark Latham, has claimed that the ALP’s positive approach to the election campaign contributed to its defeat.

Addressing the ALP State Conference in Tasmania, Latham said: “The sheer weight of this campaign broke through in the last week and sent us backwards. I believe with the benefit of hindsight … that my greatest misjudgement was in believing that the positive party would win the election.” [Read more…]

Brian Loughnane: Liberal Party’s 2004 Federal Election Analysis

The Federal Director of the Liberal Party, Brian Loughnane, has addressed the National Press Club on the outcome of the 2004 Federal Election.

This is the official transcript of Loughnane’s Address. [Read more…]

The Latham-Howard Handshake

On election eve, October 8, 2004, Prime Minister John Howard and Opposition Leader Mark Latham crossed paths in a radio studio and Latham aggressively gripped Howard’s hand in a less-than-friendly handshake.

The handshake may well have confirmed for many voters the doubts they had about Latham’s maturity and suitability for the prime ministership.

However, since the video only appeared on the Friday night before the election, you have to wonder how many people saw it. It’s not as if the footage had been shown repeatedly for weeks before polling day.

As time passes, many events develop a reputation as turning points. This may have been one but I doubt it.

Senator Len Harris – One Nation How-To-Vote

This is the One Nation Queensland how-to-vote card for the 2004 Federal Election.

Senator Len Harris was the sitting One Nation senator, seeking re-election to a second term. He had been appointed to the position in 1999, after the elected senator, Heather Hill, was disqualified under Section 44 if the Constitution for not renouncing her UK citizenship.

One Nation polled just 3.14% of the primary vote in the Queensland Senate election, a drop of 6.88% from the 2001 election. Harris served out the remainder of his term and left the Senate on June 30, 2005. [Read more…]