Press "Enter" to skip to content

Posts published in “Redistributions”

South Australia Likely To Lose A Seat In Looming Redistribution

A population decrease in South Australia is likely to see the State’s representation drop from 11 seats to 10 in a redistribution during the life of the current parliament.

According to a research paper from the Parliamentary Library, the next round of population figures will likely trigger a redistribution in South Australia, based on the “representation entitlement trigger”.

This could mean that the next election will see the numbers in the House of Representatives fall from 150 to 149.

Redistributions are also due during the term of the 45th Parliament in Victoria, Queensland, Tasmania and the Northern Territory. The number of electoral divisions in each of these will remain unchanged.

AEC Guidelines For Naming Electoral Divisions

These are the guidelines for naming federal electoral divisions, issued by the Australian Electoral Commission.

They have particular relevance during state-by-state redistributions the Commission is required to carry out.

Guidelines for Naming Federal Electoral Divisions

Determining the names of federal electoral divisions is part of the process of conducting a federal redistribution within a state or territory.

The criteria used by redistribution committees to propose the names of electoral divisions, and used by augmented electoral commissions to determine the names of electoral divisions, have previously been the subject of recommendations from the Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters. From these recommendations, a set of guidelines were developed as a point of reference only.

AEC Delays ACT Redistribution But Capital May Get Extra Seat

The Australian Electoral Commission has delayed a scheduled redistribution of electoral boundaries in the Australian Capital Territory but the nation’s capital may get an extra seat in time for the next election.

Redistributions must take place every seven years in each state and territory. They also occur when enrolments in more than one-third of all divisions, or one seat in the territories, deviate from the average by more than 10%. Redistributions also occur when the number of representatives to which a state or territory is entitled changes due to population increase or decline.

The last redistribution in the ACT took place in 2004. The AEC has deferred the next redistribution until the end of 2014 when the next determination of membership entitlement is due. It is expected that the determination will increase the ACT’s representation from two to three seats.

New Enrolment Quota Set in South Australian Redistribution

As part of its redistribution of electoral boundaries in South Australia, the Australian Electoral Commission has determined that the enrolment quota is 100,636.

This means that each of the 11 electorates in South Australia will be redrawn to ensure that as near as possible they contain that number of voters. Electorates are allowed to vary by 10% above or below the quota. Projected population growth and decline will be taken into consideration to ensure that over time electorates converge on the quota figure.

Redistributions are required in each state every 7 years. A Victorian redistribution has just been completed. The new boundaries in both states will take effect from the next general election, due in late 2013.

This is the text of a media release from the Australian Electoral Commission.

The acting Electoral Commissioner, Mr Paul Dacey, has announced the first step in the process of redistributing the federal electoral boundaries in South Australia by setting the enrolment quota.

“The enrolment quota for the redistribution in South Australia is 100 636,” Mr Dacey said.

The enrolment quota was determined by dividing the number of electors enrolled in South Australia as at 12 January 2011, which is the date the redistribution formally commenced, by the number of House of Representative seats to which the state is entitled (11).

When the boundaries are redrawn during the redistribution process, each electoral division must have between 90 573 and 110 699 electors – that is, a margin of up to 10% variation is allowed from the quota.

A media release was issued by the Electoral Commissioner on 12 January 2011 advising that under the Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 a redistribution of federal electoral boundaries was required in South Australia as seven years had elapsed since the last redistribution. South Australia’s current entitlement to 11 seats in the House of Representatives will remain unchanged.

“A Redistribution Committee will soon be formed to begin the task of redrawing electoral boundaries within South Australia,” Mr Dacey said.

The Commonwealth Electoral Act 1918 requires that the Redistribution Committee comprise the Electoral Commissioner, the Australian Electoral Officer for the state, as well as two senior state officials, usually the state’s Surveyor-General and Auditor-General or equivalent positions.

“The Redistribution Committee will undertake an extensive process of consultation and provide opportunities for individuals and organisations to make suggestions and comments on matters affecting the drawing of federal electoral boundaries and the naming of divisions.”

Public suggestions and comments about the redistribution will be invited in early April. The redistribution process is expected to be finalised on 16 December this year.
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2023