Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

High Court of Australia

The High Court of Australia is the most senior court in Australia.

Its role is to adjudicate on constitutional questions and disputes, including conflicts between state and federal governments. It also acts as the final court of appeal from all courts in all states and territories.

High Court of Australia

The Australian High Court is established under Section 71 of the Australian Constitution:

Australian Constitution – Section 71 – Judicial power and Courts

The judicial power of the Commonwealth shall be vested in a Federal Supreme Court, to be called the High Court of Australia, and in such other federal courts as the Parliament creates, and in such other courts as it invests with federal jurisdiction. The High Court shall consist of a Chief Justice, and so many other Justices, not less than two, as the Parliament prescribes.

The Court is the final arbiter of interpretation of the Australian Constitution, as well as the final court of appeal from all other Australian State and Federal courts.

The Court currently has 7 judges, headed by the Chief Justice, Robert French.

Archived News Items

Print Friendly, PDF & Email