Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Key Terms

This is a very select list of key terms relevant to parliamentary democracies such as Australia.

It doesn’t pretend to be a comprehensive list. Rather, it represents some of the key terms that I have come to see as the ones most likely to cause confusion.

  1. Liberal Democracy
  2. Constitutional Monarchy
  3. Parliamentary Democracy
  4. Westminster System
  5. Separation of Powers
  6. Federalism
  7. Representative Government
  8. Responsible Government
  9. The difference between ‘Government’ and ‘Parliament’
  10. Minority Government
  11. Executive Government
  12. The Public Service
  13. Separation of Church and State

Historical Documents

Print Friendly, PDF & Email