Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser (1975-83)

Malcolm Fraser was Australia’s 22nd Prime Minister, serving from 1975 until 1983.

Fraser came to office in tumultuous circumstances. Having provoked a constitutional crisis by refusing to pass the Whitlam government’s budget through the Senate in October 1975, Fraser became Prime Minister on November 11 after Whitlam was dismissed by the Governor-General.


Fraser’s Liberal-National Coalition government went to to win the 1975 election in the biggest landslide in Australian political history. It was re-elected in 1977 and 1980 but was defeated by Bob Hawke and the ALP in February 1983.

At the time of his defeat, Fraser was Australia’s second longest-serving prime minister. His time in office was surpassed by Hawke and John Howard and Fraser is now the fourth longest-serving.

Archived Posts

Print Friendly, PDF & Email