Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Prime Minister Gough Whitlam (1972-75)

Gough Whitlam was Australia’s 21st Prime Minister, serving from December 5, 1972 until November 11, 1975.

Whitlam led the first Labor government in 23 years. He was re-elected in 1974 and became the first Labor prime minister to win consecutive terms in office.

He is the only prime minister to have been dismissed from office by the Governor-General. The constitutional crisis that culminated in The Dismissal remains one of the most tumultuous and consequential events in Australian political history.


Archived Posts

Whitlam Dismissal

Print Friendly, PDF & Email