Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Australian Greens

Australian Greens

The Australian Greens is one of the newest political parties in Australia. It is a phenomenon of the 1980s, arising out of a number of environmental battles of that time, such as the fight to save the Franklin Dam in Tasmania. The party was formally launched on August 30, 1992, but state-based Greens parties had existed since the early 1980s.

The Greens first came to prominence in Tasmania, where 5 Greens held the balance of power in the Tasmanian Legislative Assembly between 1989-92.

Two Greens senators represented Western Australia during the early 1990s, but Senator Bob Brown from Tasmania was the only representative of the party in the Federal Parliament between 1996-2002. By 2005, there were four Greens Senators. Following the 2007 election, there were five.

The Greens had their greatest success so far at the 2010 and 2013 Federal elections. Adam Bandt won the Melbourne electorate in the House of Representatives in 2010 and was comfortably re-elected in 2013. From July 1, 2011, 9 Greens Senators held the balance of power in the Senate. Following the 2013 Federal election, the Greens held 10 senators and shared the balance of power with a range of crossbenchers.

Senator Christine Milne replaced Senator Bob Brown as leader of the party in 2012. She retired in 2015 and was replaced by Victorian Senator Richard Di Natale.

Organisation and History



Official Web Sites

News Items

Archived Posts

Print Friendly, PDF & Email