Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Labor Wins Landslide Victory In Tasmania; Liberals Decimated; Second Term For Jim Bacon

The Labor Party had won a landslide re-election victory in Tasmania, securing a second term and decimating the Liberal Party.

Whilst not winning any extra seats in the 25-seat House of Assembly, the ALP easily won the election with 14 seats, compared to just 7 for the Liberal Party. The Liberals lost 3 seats. The Opposition Leader, Bob Cheek, was one of the Liberal casualties, losing the Denison seat he had held since 1996.

Tasmania has 5 electorates each returning 5 members, using a system of proportional voting.

The ALP increased its primary vote by 7.09% to poll 51.88%. The Liberal Party primary vote fell by 10.67% to 27.38%.

The big winners were the Greens, whose vote increased by 7.95% to 18.13%. The Greens won an extra 3 seats and now hold 4, just one less than the number it held in 1992 and 1996. [Read more…]

Bob Cheek’s Verbal Gaffe In Tasmanian Election

As the Tasmanian State election drew to a close, the hapless Liberal leader, Bob Cheek, delivered what turned out to be a prophetic statement about Tasmania remaining with Labor.

Unfortunately for Cheek, he made his gaffe in the presence of John Howard. [Read more…]

Tasmanian Election Called For July 20

A State election will be held in Tasmania on July 20.

BaconThe Labor Premier, Jim Bacon, visited Government House this morning to advise the Governor, Sir Guy Green, to dissolve Parliament. The election will be held about two months earlier than expected.

The Labor government currently has 14 of the 25 seats in the House of Assembly, the Liberal Party has 10, and the Greens have 1 member. The last election was held on August 29, 1998, resulting in the return of the ALP to government for the first time since the defeat of the Field government in 1991. [Read more…]