Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Alan Jones – Earlwood – NSW Liberal HTV

This is the how-to-vote card for Alan Jones, the Liberal candidate in the 1978 NSW state by-election in Earlwood.

Earlwood had been a safe Legislative Assembly seat held by Eric Willis, for the Liberal Party, since 1950. Willis served as premier for three months in 1976, before losing office to Neville Wran and the ALP. Willis resigned as Liberal leader in December 1977.

In 1978, Alan Jones had not yet become the well-known radio presenter he is today. His future in radio was assisted by his defeat in the by-election. Earlwood was won by the ALP candidate, Ken Gabb. The Liberal Party’s primary vote fell by 7.2%. [Read more…]