Better Together: In Powerful Speech, Gordon Brown Argues For A No Vote On Scottish Independence

Former UK Labor Prime Minister Gordon Brown has delivered a powerful speech arguing for a No vote in tomorrow’s vote on Scottish independence.


In what will certainly be regarded as the best speech of his life, delivered with a passion and conviction rarely seen when he was prime minister, Brown’s argument combined emotional appeal with practical politics. [Read more…]

Blair Announces Resignation After Ten Years As British Prime Minister

Tony Blair has announced that he will relinquish the British prime ministership on June 27.

Addressing his party members and supporters in his Sedgefield constituency, Blair confirmed his departure after ten years. He became Prime Minister on May 2, 1997.

  • Listen to Blair’s Resignation Announcement (20m)
  • Listen to Blair and Opposition Leader Cameron in the House of Commons (May 9 – 3m)

Text of Prime Minister Tony Blair’s Resignation Announcement.

Tony Blair, Prime Minister of Great Britain, 1997-2007I have come back here, to Sedgefield, to my constituency. Where my political journey began and where it is fitting it should end.

Today I announce my decision to stand down from the leadership of the Labour Party. The Party will now select a new Leader. On 27 June I will tender my resignation from the office of Prime Minister to The Queen.

I have been Prime Minister of this country for just over 10 years. In this job, in the world today, that is long enough, for me but more especially for the country. Some times the only way you conquer the pull of power is to set it down. [Read more…]

Tony Blair’s First Cabinet – 1997

The Blair Labour government was elected at UK General Election of May 1, 1997.

The Labour Party had a landslide victory, winning 418 seats to the Conservative Party’s 165, with the Liberal Democrats on 46.

Blair served as prime minister for 10 years, winning two more elections in 2001 and 2005. [Read more…]

UK Labour Party Shadow Cabinet – 1994

This is the UK Labour Party’s shadow cabinet, as appointed in October 1994.

  1. Tony Blair

  2. John Prescott
    Deputy Leader

  3. Robin Cook
    Foreign Affairs

  4. Margaret Beckett

  5. Gordon Brown
    Treasury and Economic Affairs

  6. Donald Dewar
    Social Security

  7. Harriet Harman

  8. Andrew Smith
    Chief Secretary to Treasury

  9. Frank Dobson
    Environment and London

  10. George Robertson

  11. Mo Mowlam
    Northern Ireland

  12. Chris Smith
    National Heritage

  13. Jack Cunningham
    Trade and Industry

  14. Michael Meacher

  15. Ron Davies

  16. David Clark

  17. Jack Straw
    Home Affairs

  18. David Blunkett

  19. Joan Lestor
    Overseas Development

  20. Gavin Strang

  21. Ann Taylor
    Shadow Commons Leader, Citizens Charter