Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Rann Now Longest-Serving Premier

Peter Beattie’s resignation as Queensland Premier will elevate South Australia’s Mike Rann to the position of longest-serving state premier. Rann was elected in March 2002.

Mike Rann, Premier of South AustraliaThe Northern Territory Chief Minister, Clare Martin, will become the longest-serving state or territory head of government, having been elected in August 2001. She just eclipses the ACT’s Jon Stanhope, elected in November 2001.

The retirements of Bob Carr (elected 1995), Steve Bracks (1999) and Beattie (1998) have resulted in the Labor governments which dominate the Australian states and territories moving to a second-generation of leaders.

Western Australian Premier Geoff Gallop (elected February 2001) resigned due to ill-health in January 2006. Tasmanian Premier Jim Bacon (elected September 1998) also resigned due to ill-health in February 2004.

Rann remains the last-elected and only original member of the clutch of Labor Premiers elected between 1995 and 2002.

John Howard remains the longest-serving head of government, having been Prime Minister since March 11, 1996.

Labor Wins Landslide Victory In Tasmania; Liberals Decimated; Second Term For Jim Bacon

The Labor Party had won a landslide re-election victory in Tasmania, securing a second term and decimating the Liberal Party.

Whilst not winning any extra seats in the 25-seat House of Assembly, the ALP easily won the election with 14 seats, compared to just 7 for the Liberal Party. The Liberals lost 3 seats. The Opposition Leader, Bob Cheek, was one of the Liberal casualties, losing the Denison seat he had held since 1996.

Tasmania has 5 electorates each returning 5 members, using a system of proportional voting.

The ALP increased its primary vote by 7.09% to poll 51.88%. The Liberal Party primary vote fell by 10.67% to 27.38%.

The big winners were the Greens, whose vote increased by 7.95% to 18.13%. The Greens won an extra 3 seats and now hold 4, just one less than the number it held in 1992 and 1996. [Read more…]

Tasmanian Election Called For July 20

A State election will be held in Tasmania on July 20.

BaconThe Labor Premier, Jim Bacon, visited Government House this morning to advise the Governor, Sir Guy Green, to dissolve Parliament. The election will be held about two months earlier than expected.

The Labor government currently has 14 of the 25 seats in the House of Assembly, the Liberal Party has 10, and the Greens have 1 member. The last election was held on August 29, 1998, resulting in the return of the ALP to government for the first time since the defeat of the Field government in 1991. [Read more…]

The Tasmanian Bacon Labor Government

This is a photograph of the Tasmanian Labor government, led by Premier Jim Bacon, in 2000.


Howard Announces Federal Government Attack on Gambling

In a new foray into the social policy area, the Prime Minister, John Howard, has announced a federal government attack on problem gambling.

Following his opposition to safe heroin injecting rooms, particularly those announced by the new Victorian government, Howard has adopted a moral line on the spread of gambling, especially poker machines, and attacked State government reliance on gambling revenue.

His proposals have met with opposition from the States, with Tasmanian Premier, Jim Bacon, telling Howard not to meddle in areas of State responsibility.

1998 Tasmanian State Election

Tony RundleThe Liberal government of Tasmanian Premier Tony Rundle was defeated at the August 29 election by the ALP under the leadership of Jim Bacon.

Mr. Rundle, announced an early election on 13 July. The State’s voters went to the polls on Saturday 29 August, 18 months earlier than necessary. Mr. Rundle said he was tired of the frustration and difficulty of running a minority government. The Federal Opposition Leader, Mr. Kim Beazley, said that Rundle had committed political suicide, a prediction that turned out to be accurate.

In announcing the election, Mr. Rundle also announced that he was introducing a bill to reduce the size of the Legislative Assembly from 35 to 25 members. The plan was attacked by the Greens as a blatant attempt to destroy their representation in the Parliament. The legislation was subsequently passed by the ALP and the Liberals, and the Parliament was dissolved for the elections. [Read more…]