2016 Federal Election: The Oncers Who Have Become Twicers

Most of the first-term members of the previous parliament have been returned to the new 45th parliament.

Of 42 members elected for the first time at the 2013 federal election, 31 (73.8%) were re-elected on July 2, 2016.

Eight members (19%), all Liberals, were defeated at the election. [Read more…]

Luke Howarth (LNP – Petrie) – First Speech

Luke Howarth was first elected as the Liberal National Party member for Petrie at the 2013 federal election.


Howarth defeated the ALP’s Yvette D’Ath who held the seat for two terms under the Rudd and Gillard governments. Petrie was one of two seats lost by the ALP at the election, reducing the party to just four seats. The LNP holds 24 seats. [Read more…]