Can You Help?

This website is in imminent danger of being shut down. It has been online since 1995, but the personal circumstances of the owner, Malcolm Farnsworth, are such that economies have to be made. Server costs and suchlike have become prohibitive. At the urging of people online, I have agreed to see if Patreon provides a solution. More information is available at the Patreon website. If you are able to contribute even $1.00/month to keep the site running, please click the Patreon button below.

Become a Patron!

Independent Wins Surfers Paradise By-Election; National Party Mauled By Voters

An independent candidate, Lex Bell, has won the by-election for the Queensland Legislative Assembly electorate of Surfers Paradise, vacated by the former National Party leader, Rob Borbidge.

In another rebuff to the coalition, the National Party vote in the formerly safe seat fell to 7.77%, a 42% primary vote swing. The ALP’s primary vote also dropped by nearly 18% to 20.38%.

Most of the swing went to Lex Bell, a former local mayor.

The loss leaves the National Party with just eleven seats in the Legislative Assembly.

The Labor government led by Peter Beattie has 66 seats, the Liberal Party has 3, and One Nation has 3. [Read more…]

Queensland Election Results Finalised

The results of the Queensland State election are now finalised, showing that the Beattie Labor Government has won 66 seats in the 89-seat Legislative Assembly.

After the provision of a Speaker, the government will have a majority of 42 on the floor of the Parliament.

The election has reduced the National Party to 12 seats and decimated the Liberal Party to a mere 3 seats.

The former National Party leader, Rob Borbidge, is expected to resign from his seat of Surfers Paradise, causing a by-election that the Nationals could easily lose, reducing their numbers even further. [Read more…]

Historic Labor Landslide In Queensland Election; Coalition Decimated; One Nation Wreaks Havoc On The Right

Queensland’s Labor Premier, Peter Beattie, has routed the coalition parties in an historic election landslide in which the ALP is likely to win around 65 seats in the 89-seat Parliament.

BeattieThe election has reduced the Opposition parties to rumps. The Liberal Party is only assured of two seats and the National Party ten.

One Nation is likely to win two seats and four others have been won by independents.

Opposition Leader, Rob Borbidge, has conceded defeat in his Surfers Paradise electorate, losing to a 19-year-old Labor candidate. Liberal Leader, David Watson, is struggling to hold his seat. [Read more…]

2001 Queensland Election

The Queensland State Election, held on February 17, 2001, resulted in a landslide win to the incumbent Labor government led by Premier Peter Beattie. The ALP won 66 seats in the 89-seat Legislative Assembly.

Peter Beattie Sticker - 2001 State Election Campaign

After the provision of a Speaker, the government will have a majority of 42 on the floor of the Parliament.

The election has reduced the National Party to 12 seats and decimated the Liberal Party to a mere 3 seats. [Read more…]

Queensland 1998 State Election Results

The Queensland state election was held on June 13, 1998.

At the previous election in 1995, Wayne Goss’s Labor government was re-elected to a third term with a one-seat majority. In February 1996, a by-election was held in the electorate of Mundingburra, as a result of a decision of the Court of Disputed Returns. The Liberal Party won the seat and Rob Borbidge became leader of a National-Liberal coalition government with the support of the independent member for Gladstone, Liz Cunningham.

The 1998 election saw the defeat of the Borbidge government and the narrow election of a Labor government led by Peter Beattie.

The election was the high point for the new Pauline Hanson’s One Nation party. It won 22.67% of the primary vote and 11 seats. One Nation won six seats from the ALP and five from the Nationals. The Nationals lost another seat to an independent.

However, the ALP won six seats from the Liberal Party in Brisbane. Voter reaction to the Liberal decision to preference One Nation was seen as the reason for the Liberal losses.

Peter Beattie was able to form a minority government with the support of an independent, Peter Wellington. Following a by-election a few months later, caused by the resignation of the One Nation member for Mulgrave, the ALP had a one-seat majority.

1998 Queensland State Election – Primary Votes
Party Abbr Formal Votes Percentage
A.L.P ALP 751,794 38.87%
Pauline Hanson’s One Nation ONP 438,580 22.67%
Liberal Party LIB 311,247 16.09%
Queensland Nationals NPA 293,357 15.17%
The Greens GRN 45,663 2.36%
The Democrats DEM 31,118 1.61%
Australia First (Qld) AFP 9,568 0.49%
ARP ARP 7,653 0.40%
C.D.P (Qld.) CDP 2,098 0.11%
Shooters Party TSP 1,051 0.05%
AWP AWP 299 0.02%
Other Candidates 41,942 2.17%


1998 Queensland State Election
Total Formal Votes 1,934,370
Total Informal Votes 28,416
Percentage Informal 1.45%
Total Votes Counted 1,962,786
Percentage of Total Electors 92.76%
Total Electors Enrolled 2,115,977


Queensland Parliament
(Note: The Queensland Legislative Council was abolished in 1922)
Party Legislative Assembly
1995 Election
Legislative Assembly
1998 Election
One Nation
ALP Government, sworn in 26 June 1998
Premier: Peter Beattie