Press "Enter" to skip to content

United States Supreme Court

The Supreme Court of the United States is established under Article 3 of the Constitution.

There are 9 Justices of the Supreme Court. They are nominated for their positions by the President and must be confirmed by the Senate. Once confirmed they hold office for life.

A law passed by Congress, even if approved by the President, may be struck down by the Supreme Court. In 1996, for example, the court struck down electoral boundary laws in a number of states.

The Supreme Court may invalidate Executive Orders given by the President. In this way, the court acts as a check on presidential power where the congress is not directly involved.

The Court may also direct the Congress and the President. This happened in 1973-74 during the Watergate scandal when the Court ordered President Nixon to surrender secret tapes of White House conversations to a Senate committee.

Supreme Court Decisions

FindLaw’s searchable database of the Supreme Court decisions since 1893 (U.S. Supreme Court Decisions: US Reports 150-, 1893-). Browsable by year and US Reports volume number and searchable by citation, case title and full text.


U.S. Supreme Court Decisions:

by volume, by year

Citation Search

e.g. 410 U.S. 113

Title Search

e.g. Roe v. Wade

Full-Text Search



Archived Posts
Malcolm Farnsworth
© 1995-2024